Divorce

No Fault / No Children 

Starting at $200

Plus Court Cost

DIVORCE LAWS

 

In order to file for a divorce in Tennessee, residency requirements must be met for the court to accept the case. If the court discovers it does not have jurisdictional rights to hear the case it will not be accepted or it will eventually be dismissed. The requirements are as follows:

The spouse filing for the divorce must be a resident of the state at the time the grounds for divorce took place. If the grounds took place outside the state of Tennessee, one of the spouses must be a resident for 6 months prior to filing. The divorce shall be filed in the county in which both spouses reside if they are both residents; or the county in which the respondent resides if he or she is a resident; or the county in which the petitioner resides. (Tennessee Code - Volume 6A, Title 36, Sections 36-4-104 and 36-4-105)

Property Law

 

Property and real estate laws affect renters and landlords as well as home owners (or prospective home owners). Most states, including Tennessee, have "homestead" protection laws allowing property owners to protect a small parcel of property from creditors and adverse possession laws, which allow "continuous trespassers" to gain title to an otherwise abandoned piece of real estate. Additionally, Tennessee law does not mandate a limit to the amount of money a landlord can charge for a security deposit, nor does he or she have to pay interest on the deposit amount. - See more at: http://statelaws.findlaw.com/tennessee-law/tennessee-property-and-real-estate-laws.html#sthash.TEeAxBif.dpuf

Conveyancing

 

IIn all cases of written agreements or contracts for the conveyance of land in this state, where the person executing the agreement or contract dies before final conveyance is made, the decedent's personal representatives may execute the conveyance to the person with whom such agreement or contract was made, or the decedent's heirs or assigns, according to the forms prescribed for the conveyance of real estate.

Employment Law

 

Tennessee is known as an "EMPLOYMENT-AT-WILL" state. Generally, this means that an employer may legally hire, fire, suspend or discipline any employee at any time and for any reason - good or bad - or for no reason at all. However, an employer may not discriminate against any employee on the basis of the employee's race, sex, age, religion, color, national origin, or disability. - See more at: https://www.tn.gov/workforce/topic/employee-rights#sthash.0x1nddbA.dpuf

Criminal Law
 

Like all jurisdictions (federal and state), Tennessee distinguishes among offenses based on their seriousness.  These offenses range from minor misdemeanors to capital crimes.  The table below shows the gradations of criminal offenses under Tennessee law.  

 

Immigration​

 

IOfficials at city and county jails in Tennessee are required to report anyone who may be in violation of federal immigration laws to U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) authorities.Enforcement agencies are required to contact federal immigration officials if they can't verify legal status of arrestees within three days.As part of the 287(g) ICE ACCESS Program, officials with the Tennessee Highway Patrol and the Davidson County Sheriff's Office cooperate with federal authorities in enforcing immigration law.Under a federal program called "Secure Communities," all arrestees are fingerprinted and run through a federal database which checks their criminal record and immigration status.- See more at: http://immigration.findlaw.com/immigration-laws-and-resources/tennessee-state-immigration-laws.html#sthash.bPJ7xOem.dpuf

​​​​© Eight Lakes Media